Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

OnePlus Nord live launch: How, when and where to watch it

OnePlus is launching a new series of smartphones called ‘Nord’. As things stand, it looks as though only one new phone is being announced imminently, but from the sounds of it, this will become a new range of affordable, but highly capable products. 

The first phone, simply called OnePlus Nord is going to be unveiled this month and the launch is a little less straightforward than usual. 

Here are details on how to watch the event live and what to expect.

When is the OnePlus Nord series launch? 

The launch is kicking off in London at 15:00 BST 21 July 2020. Here are the different regional times it is due to start:

  • New York – 10:00 EDT
  • San Francisco – 07:00 PDT
  • Central Europe – 16:00 CEST
  • New Delhi – 07:30 IST
  • Tokyo – 23:00 JST 
  • Sydney – 00:00 AEST 15 April

How to watch the event

Unlike most phone launches, OnePlus is going for something a bit different with the OnePlus Nord. The smartphone is going to launch in AR, which essentially means either downloading an Android or iPhone app or viewing it through your browser on your smartphone. The easiest way will be to download the app: 

If you want to watch through your browser, you need to head to Nord.OnePlus.com/NordAR

Pocket-lint

When you first launch the app, it’ll ask you if you want to set up a personal avatar, so you can choose your hair style, facial hair, eyes, mouth and skin tone. Once that’s done, it’ll ask for permission to use your camera, then warn you that you’ll need a strong Wi-Fi signal, and that it’d be best to use headphones. 

Pocket-lint

After that, you launch the viewing page which uses your camera and AR to scan the area and place a virtual launch event stage on your desk, table, floor.. or wherever you happen to be. 

What to expect from the OnePlus Nord launch

Simply: the OnePlus Nord. We’re expecting to see a device with almost-flagship power, and one that’s been speculated about and rumoured for some months. You can find out all the details in our dedicated feature

It’s confirmed the phone will have the Snapdragon 765G processor inside, plus 5G support and that it’ll cost less than $500 USD (around £400). Leaks have shown an all-glass phone, but one with a slightly different camera design and colour scheme to the OnePlus 8 series. 

It’s likely going to feature a quad camera system on the back, with so-called ‘flagship’ camera as its primary snapper, and that’s rumoured to be joined by an ultra-wide, macro and depth sensor. 

We’ll find out all the other details in the launch, so stay tuned for 21 July. It won’t be long now. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top